CHARLIE Young's header sealed a narrow victory for Porthleven in their local derby with Wendron United at Gala Parc.

Dan Stidwell put the hosts in front early on before Jack Stocker levelled the scores before the break.

The visitors were reduced to ten after Ben Ringrose was shown two yellow cards early in the second half, with Young heading home the winner with 15 minutes to go.

Stidwell opened the scoring after 13 minutes by slotting into the corner after a one-two with Matt Fox.

Port had a few chances to double their lead afterwards, with Stidwell mising the chance to score when through on his own.

Dan Richardson then had a shot blocked from a few yards out before Tyler Oliver headed over from the ensuing corner.

Young had a huge chance to net on the half-hour when he raced in on goal, played a one-two with Richardson but waited too long to shoot.

Wendron made the Fisherman pay for their profligacy by nabbing an equaliser ten minutes before the break, with Stocker racing onto a through ball, rounding Martyn Webster and slotting in from a tight angle.

Both sides could have nicked a goal late in the half, with Stidwell lashing a shot wide from eight yards before Jack Noy headed Finn Robinson's cross inches wide of Webster's goal.

The visitors' hopes were dealt a huge blow just before the hour as Ben Ringrose was given his marching orders after picking up two yellows early in the second half.

The 11 men eventually took advantage of the extra body with 15 minutes to play in bizarre circumstances. Young nodded a header over the line from close range, only for the linesman to initially flag for offside, who then appeared to change his mind after consulting the referee.

Ten-man Wendron tried to find a late leveller, but Chapman forcing a good save from Webster was as close as they got.

Porthleven: M Webster, E Timmons, B Stidwell, T Whipp, D Turner, T Oliver, C Young, H Dark, D Richardson, D Stidwell, M Rox. Subs: J Adlard-Rogers, G Molcher, E Fern, J Thomson, J Roberts.

Wendron: D Stedman, F Robinson, H Fuller, M O'Neill, D Tarrant, B Ringrose, J Chapman, J Stocker, K Thomas, R Jarvis, J Noy. Subs: Y Briar, T Martin, W Paul, R Carroll, B Clarke.