PORTHLEVEN are the red-hot favourites to lift the Dave Gardner Memorial Tournament trophy after an excellent 3-1 win at home to Helston Athletic.

Port go into Sunday's finals day with a three-point lead after Jordan Adlard, Dan Richardson and an own goal sealed victory at Gala Parc, with Hugh Howlett heading in a late consolation for the Blues.

Helston were the first side to settle, with Alfie Flack heading wide after Olly Brokenshire almost turned in Cameron Wheat's cross at the back post.

But Porthleven scored with their first shot of the game, with Adlard netting from the spot after Stidwell was brought down in the box.

The Fishermen began a spell of dominance then; Stidwell and Gavin Perraton nearly hooked in crosses, Tyler Oliver and Stidwell glanced headers over the bar, while a defensive mix-up almost allowed Stidwell the chance to tap in.

Helston finally earned some respite with Charlie Young having a couple of potshots after Alfie Flack forced a good save out of Martin Webster.

But Port doubled the lead two minute before the break in fortunate circumstances, with Tonkin diverting Fraser's free-kick past his own 'keeper.

Both sides were in the thick of it after the break. Fraser fired wide and Richardson had a free-kick saved, while Flack skewed a shot wide before Brokenshire tested Webster with a long-range effort at the other.

But the Fishermen moved further ahead midway through the half, as Richardson headed Ed Timmons' free-kick in at the near post to all but confirm victory.

Helston did not give up and could have scored a couple of times from set pieces, with two corners being scrambled away before Harrison Jewell and Howlett took aim at Webster's goal.

Helston's night was almost complete when Mark Goldsworthy was sent to the sin bin with just over ten minutes to go.

But the Blues managed a consolation in the final minute of the 90, with Howlett sending a strong header past Webster from Lewis Tonkin's corner.

Porthleven: M Webster, E Timmons, C Wormington, B Stidwell, T Whipp, J Adlard, T Oliver, D Richardson, G Perraton, D Stidwell, K Fraser.

Helston: J Robertson, K Davies, I Dryburgh, H Howlett, H Jewell, L Tonkin, O Brokenshire, C Young, A Flack, M Goldsworthy, C Wheat.