Falmouth’s wait for a first Cornwall Premier League win continues after a 146-run defeat at home to Penzance.

Jack Paull hit 117 as Penzance reached 263-6 after 50 overs, with Falmouth being bowled out for 117 in their reply.

Falmouth won the toss and chose to field and they got off to the perfect start by taking Penzance opener Scott Harvey for a golden duck, with Louis Rudin claiming the wicket.

Fellow opener Ryan Edwards also departed without scoring shortly after as the visitors looked to be in trouble.

But Paull and Thomas Wells put on a 174-run stand before Paull was bowled by Richard Kellow, having scored 75 off 105 balls.

Wells and Dylan Blignaut added another 60 runs to reach 236-4 when Wells was caught by Oliver Paull off Steve Redwood’s delivery. Wells finished with a top score of 117 runs off 151 balls.

Blignaut added 27 with Tommy Sturgess (14no) and Greg Smith (11no) took Penzance to the end of the innings.

Falmouth suffered the same disastrous start as their opponents, with openers Grant Stone and Harry Roberts both departing for ducks after facing three balls apiece.

But they could not count on the high-scoring pair of Paull and Wells, with Rudin managing a top innings score of just 25.

Kellow and Oliver Paull added 21 apiece while Stefan Churcher (12), Aidan Carter (11) and Redwood (10) contributed single-figure hauls as Falmouth were dismissed for 117 in the 41st over.

Fall (Penzance): 0-1 Scott Harvey (Ryan Edwards-0*); 2-2 Ryan Edwards (Jack Paull-2*); 176-3 Jack Paull (Thomas Wells-85*); 236-4 Thomas Wells (Dylan Blignaut-26*); 238-5 Antony Angove (Dylan Blignaut-27*); 238-6 Dylan Blignaut (Tommy Sturgess-0*).

Fall (Falmouth): 1-1 Grant Stone (Harry Roberts-0*); 6-2 Harry Roberts (Stefan Churcher-2*); 26-3 Stefan Churcher (Richard Kellow-9*); 53-4 Richard Kellow (Oliver Paull-13*); 64-5 Oliver Paull (Aidan Carter-2*); 97-6 Aidan Carter (Louis Rudin-18*); 113-7 Steven Redwood (Louis Rudin-24*); 114-8 Sajjad Jabarkhel (Louis Rudin-25*); 114-9 Louis Rudin (Luke Richardson-0*); 117-10 Luke Richardson (James Williamson-0*).