Truro 200-4 (42.5) beat Falmouth 198-8 (50) by six wickets

Falmouth’s wait for a win this season goes on after suffering a six-wicket loss at Truro.

The visitors won the toss and opted to bat first, but their 198 run total was met by Truro with just over seven overs to spare.

Grant Stone got Falmouth’s batting innings off to a promising start, with the opener reaching 58 from 87 balls before being run out by Kyle Van Rooyen.

But Aidan Carter (4) and Rohit Venkateshan (21) had departed in the meantime, with both being caught out by Neil Ivamy as Falmouth reached 113-3.

The visitors’ hopes of picking up a first win of the season, following eight successive T20 defeats and last week’s league loss to Wadebridge, were strengthened by club chairman Harry Roberts, who matched Stone’s 58-run haul off 112 balls.

Scott Kellow (10), James Williamson (3) and Richard Kellow (12) had departed by the time Roberts was stumped by James Jorgensen to take the score to 194-7, with captain Olly Paull (9) adding the final runs before time was up.

Charlie Kent starred with the ball, taking three wickets for 25 runs, and he was in similar form with the bat, scoring 57 runs at the start of his side’s reply before being caught by Richard Kellow.

Kellow had already claimed the wickets of Andrew Libby (10) and Tom Wyatt (16) before catching Kent, but Joseph Phillips was halfway towards his total of 51 as Truro reached 125-3.

Phillips’ innings ended as Carter caught him off Louis Rudin’s delivery, but Kelvin Snell (36) had added 33 runs alongside as Truro neared the finish line, which, thanks to Van Rooyen’s 16 not out, was crossed in the 43rd over.