THE outstanding sporting achievements and contributions to college sport by Richard Huish College students were celebrated at the annual Sports Awards evening last month.

With the ongoing situation with COVID-19, this year’s festivities were different to years prior, having to be moved online with the various captains releasing videos of their speeches through the Huish Sports social media channels.

The awards were then handed out, again through the use of video.

Lottie Gaukroger picked up the Sportswoman of the Year award, with Ivo Maxwell as Sportsman of the Year - both are hockey players.

The Wooden Spoon award went to Freddie Wolfenden, who has been the face of Huish Sport with constant contact with staff and making people laugh and smile.

Captain of the Year went to Grace Hill, Coach of the Year to Jason Hedaux, the Parsloe Cup (male) to Lewis Cuthbert and the Parsloe Cup (female) to Lauren Knight

Team of the Year was won by men’s basketball for their amazing success this year.

The team remained unbeaten when sports were called off following the UK lockdown; the team managed to make the finals of the Dynamik Cup for the first time in the college’s history and also qualified for Nationals once again.

Finally, 18 students were awarded ‘Huish 20’ medals in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Huish Sport:

Meg Adcock (rugby); Shona Amadi (basketball); Josh Cowan (basketball); Lewis Cuthbert (basketball); Lottie Gaukroger (hockey); Lianne Grinter (netball and basketball); Grace Hill (rugby); Frankie Jeffrey (netball); Lauren Knight (netball and basketball); Pascal Lasnier (badminton); Miko Makowski (basketball); Will Reull (rugby); Oscar Smith (hockey); Henry Stirzaker (hockey); Evie Tatterton (netball); Clodagh Thorpe (hockey); Louis Trotman (rugby); and Ben Wharton (basketball).