STAPLEGROVE sealed an instant return to the West of England Premier League Somerset Division as they defeated Winscombe by 25 runs on Saturday, writes Paul Martin.

The hosts batted first and saw Henry Graydon (34) add 67 for the opening wicket with Thomas Pantling, who went on to make 64.

The platform was added to by contributions from Louis Wood (23) and Ben Coomber (35) as the Grove reached 235 before being bowled out with eight balls unused.

Winscombe also made a strong start, their opening pair putting on 75, but both were dismissed by William Parkman.

Nathan Dimond (3-55) tore through the middle order and Parkman collected two more scalps to finish with 4-26 from nine.

Final pair Ben Goodrum (23) and Mike Coe (24) added 42 but Wood (1-27) took the final wicket which, combined with a defeat for Wells, was enough for Grove to finish in the second promotion spot.

Staplegrove chairman Matt Dunn said: “We would have been quite happy to consolidate this season following relegation but we have benefited from consistency in selection and it has been a real team effort.

“The majority of the team who came down have stuck with us and got us back up, which is great.

“We will look to add a few players over the winter to make ourselves competitive back in the WEPL.

“It has been a good summer for the club as a whole.

“We entered an Under-19 team into that cup competition for the first time, we ran All Stars Cricket successfully and our ladies and girls teams had an enjoyable season.”

Anyone wishing to get involved with Staplegrove CC can contact Dunn via

Staplegrove will be joined in the WEPL by Taunton St Andrew’s 2nds, who sealed the title with a thumping win at Minehead 2nds.

Jacob Hockey (51), Jordan Clapp (36), George Thomas (27), Josh Clatworthy (27) and Ben Walford (25no) each chipped in as the Saints finished their 45 overs on 236-7.

Walford (1-25) took the first wicket to fall in reply before Burke ran riot, claiming 6-26 from his nine overs to put the result beyond doubt.

Fittingly, it was Burke who took the final wicket as Minehead were bowled out for 118 in the 32nd over, handing Saints victory by 118 runs.

Saints will therefore play WEPL cricket next season but Minehead look set to drop to Division 2 in the Somerset League, with three teams due to be relegated from the top tier subject to final approval from the league committee.

Trull crowned their title-winning season with an eight-wicket win at Purnell in Division 2 on Saturday as the season came to a close.

The home decided to bat first and were under pressure throughout as Graham Fitt (4-28), Andy Sapey (2-11) and Brian Stone (2-12) bowled them out for 101.

Sapey (37no) led the reply and, with Andy Clark (41), ensured Trull’s 16th victory in a row.

Taunton 2nd XI travelled to third-placed North Newton and were beaten by 84 runs.

The home side batted first and posted 210, a fine 92 from Tom Williams being the feature of the innings.

Simon Manley (29) did his best to shore up the reply but Taunton were all out for 126 as Chris Wadham (4-21 off 9) and James White (3-20) dominated.

In Division 3, Broadway & Horton hit 200 at North Perrott 2nds but lost by seven wickets.

Spencer Larkman (33) and Andrew Mason (53) put on 89 for the first wicket and Warwick Larkman added 33 and James Payne 26 late on to boost the total.

Perrott made light of the task as Joseph Eckland (83) and Tommy Stewart (76) saw them home.

Huish & Langport visited South Petherton in Division 4 and were all out for 100 chasing 206-8.

Paul Acreman hit 80 and Adam Young 54 for Pethy as Rufus Williams-Pritchard took 3-28 off 9.

Only Jonathan Watts (36) looked comfortable as Huish fell to Young’s 6-27 off 8.

In Division 5, third-placed Trull 2nds entertained second-placed Wedmore and won by 17 runs.

Trull notched 208, thanks to a fine innings of 99 from Luke Bishop and a late 31 from Justin Hayward.

In reply, Hayward and Rory Stone took three wickets apiece to keep promoted Wedmore to 191.

Curry Rivel won a thriller at home to Sparkford by one wicket after chasing down 196-6 in Division 6S.

Sparkford’s innings was dominated by Joel Enticott’s 88 with Harry Paget-Wilkes taking 3-24.

Then, Mark Tilley’s 81 took Rivel to the line and Phil Stevens (9no) and Matt Raffill (8no) scrambled over.

In Division 6S, Taunton Deane 4ths faced Staplegrove 2nds and won by 90 runs after hitting 200.

Half-centuries from James Lamb and Max Johnson (plus 52 extras) saw Deane to a challenging total as John Hodge took 4-13 in 7.

Then, Ru Newman stood firm with 51 as the rest of his team were bowled out by Graham Johnson (5-14 off 6).

Taunton St Andrew’s B welcomed promoted Spaxton and lost by six wickets after posting 154-9.

Mark Sanders top scored with 38 for the Saints as Ben Rich took 3-31.

Spaxton made light of the target as Dave Pople (56) and Adam Richards (53) brought a successful end to a fine season.

Fitzhead Crusaders celebrated their Division 6S title-winning season with a 78-run win at Lydford Sports.

Duncan Morrish hit 51 and skipper Wayne Parsons 47 as Fitzhead posted 206-9.

Then Will Pope (4-21 off 8) and Morrish (3-28) ran through the Lydford line-up, despite Casper Harvey hitting a defiant 79.

In Division 7S, runners-up Broadway & Horton 2nds entertained winners South Petherton 2nds and were beaten by five wickets.

The home side were all out for 115, skipper Paul Anderson top scoring with 45 as Ian Lukins took 4-32.

Graeme McPherson led the reply with 35 and Pethy came home with ease.

Huish & Langport 2nds lost by 47 runs at home to Ilminster 3rds.

The visitors were struggling as Charlie Roberts and Ian Douglas took three wickets apiece.

But an unbeaten 64 from veteran skipper Craig Rice took his side to 189-9.

Huish lost early wickets and momentum and failed to recover despite 33no from Simon Gough and 34no from Richard Swaine.

Sharif Haque took 3-14 off 6 as Huish could only reach 142-5.

Taunton Deane 5ths posted a challenging 183-7 after Ben Campbell hit a fine half-century and Paul Arscott 37no but still lost by seven wickets.

Chard’s reply was dominated by a big opening stand from Phil Tolley (80no) and Yousiah Shazad (55) which took them to the brink of victory.