LAST year’s Taunton & Pickeridge captain, Andy Willetts, teamed up with Mike Hooper to win the D-Day stableford competition at the club with 44.

For Hooper, this was an extra special occasion because it was his first competition victory in 10 years of membership at the club.

Hooper has been junior organiser at T&P for the last four years, while Willetts was a former organiser, so both have played a massive part in developing many of the talented players the club can now boast.

The winner in the top division of Saturday’s Stableford at Taunton & Pickeridge was Tom Poole with 40 points.

Countback put him in front of Kelvin Oxley, while Keith Welsher was third with 39.

In Division 2 it was Dave Pring who was the clear winner with a massive 46 points, Luke Whitear was second on 38 and Martin Short third with 37.

In Division 3, Bill Maginn (with 39 points) claimed the honours but it was a close-run thing for the next two places.

Following countback, it was Nigel Gridley who was second, just ahead of third-placed Alex Campbell after both scored 35.

On Tuesday, the Ladies played a qualifier for the Somerset Nine Hole ‘Champion of Champions’ which will be held on The Channel Course at Burnham & Berrow GC in October.

The winner was Judy McKerracher with 19 points, one ahead of Jan Hill with 18.

Third place went to Marion Mittermaier, who edged in front of Theresa Dowsett on countback after both carded 17.

n THE Dunbar Classic Open Bowmaker Competition was held at Oake Manor last Saturday, when 152 golfers braved a very wet start.

Oake’s greenkeepers team won the day with an excellent score of 84 points.

Chris Trott, Josh Martin, Graham McGann and Matt Croker beat a team from Saltford, who also had 84, on countback.

Jim Greenhow, Steve Barham, Gary Sweet and Chris Rudd from Oake were third with 83 and Clive Thorne, Simon Mankin, Dave Hollow and Marc Holloway from Oake fourth with 82.

Neil Blackmore won Division 1 of the Fathers’ Day Medal Competition, scoring a nett 69.

The next three players all scored nett 71 but, on countback, Mark Chapman was second, Ian Loader third and Simon Mankin fourth.

Daniel Green won Division 2 with a nett 66, the best score of the day.

The next three players all scored nett 69 but, on countback, Alan Bowey came second, David Rossills third and Justin Cole fourth.

Pam Akers and Ladies’ captain Ros Shepherd won the Ladies’ Spring Pairs Knock-Out Competition, beating Kathryn and Jill Loader on the 16th.