ON Sunday, the Husbands and Wives Greensomes Stableford took place at the end of which it was 2018 runners-up Chris and Jo Evans who were the winners with 40 points . . . on the day of their 32nd wedding anniversary.

Second were Bob and Corinne Lyon with 36, while David and Judy Powell with 35 were third on countback from four other couples.

Best front nine score with 19 went to Martin and Jan Hill, while the best back nine score with 19 was won by John and Jacky Ford.

It was very much a Foster family affair in the top division of the The Drayton Cup which took place at Taunton and Pickeridge Golf Club on Saturday.

Both Simon and Jon Foster returned with net 69 at the end of the round but after countback it was younger brother Simon who edged into first place. Adam Cridlin with 70 was third.

There was also a two-way tie at the top of Division Two but, after countback, it was Stephen Walker who claimed the honours just ahead of Gavin Whitworth after both scored 66, while Tom Poole was third on 68.

In Division Three, Arthur Sinclair was the winner but only after countback put him in front of Patrick Simpson after both scored 68, with Tony Knight third with 73.

The winner of the Drayton Cup was Stephen Walker with his nett 66.

On Tuesday, the Ladies’ Section took part in the Hospice Stableford.

In the Silver Division, it was Gill Shire who triumphed with 38 points, three ahead of second-placed Lennox Heath, while Carol Keenan was third with 31.

Three ladies returned with 36 points in the Bronze Division but, after countback, it was Katy Davies, who was first, Jo Evans was second and Jan Hill third.

Twos were recorded on the day by Katie Guest and Sue Walsh. The competition raised £28 for St Margaret’s Hospice.


KOBE Adams is the Oake Manor Men’s Club Champion.

After 36 holes, Kobe Adams and Josh Martin were tied on a gross score of 145 and Kobe beat Josh after three play-off holes.

Connor Sidley-Adams was third gross with 154 and Bob Tye was fourth with 157.

Stuart Coleman is the Men’s Nett Champion with nett 141, Josh Martin was second nett with 143, Graham Wiskin was third nett with 145 and Christopher Rudd fourth with 146.

Jane Clist is the Ladies’ Club Champion.

Clist and Kathy Salway were tied on a gross score of 177 after 36 holes but Clist won it on the first play off hole.

Kathryn Loader was third with 179 and Suzanne Reed fourth on 182.

Kathy Salway won the Ladies’ Nett Championship with a nett 149, Jill Loader was second with nett 156, Suzanne Reed third with nett 158 and Karen Potter fourth also nett 158.

Bob Tye won the over-55s Gross Championship with a score of 157 and Jane Clist won the Ladies’ over-55s Championship with gross 177.

Doug Yearsley won the Barbara Sadler Plate for the best nett second round score.

Mike Shaw won the Seniors Section Gross Championship for the second year running with a score of gross 76, Mike Amos came second with a gross 81, Martin Rivers was third also gross 81 and Charles St George was fourth with gross 82.

Simon Labrechts won the Seniors Section Nett Championship with a score of nett 68, Mike Amos was second with nett 70, Mike Shaw was third also with nett 70 and Somerset Captain of Captains John Beer was fourth with nett 71.

David Franks won the Wednesday Mid-Week Stableford Competition with 37 points, the next three players all had 34 points but on count back Jonathon Govier was second, Lee Palk third and Gerald Flanagan fourth.


THREE teams of ladies from Vivary Park Golf Club braved the wet and windy weather to play in the Pro Am along with 20 other teams.

The golf course was looking exceptionally good and a challenge for all golfers.

First team out were ‘The Ladies in Pink’ of Sandra Eaton, PGA Pro Kelly Bridges, Janet Vick and Dale Knight, followed by ‘Cullens Catering’ with Amanda Woodford, PGA Pro Hannah Bridges, Sharon Davies and Vanessa Vordon.

Next to take part were ‘Vivary Ladies’, comprising PGA Pro Katie Rule, Diane Squance, captain Ruth Crooks and Sally Thomas.

Last out proved to be the winning formula as Vivary Ladies won the day.

All proceeds from the raffle will go to The Samaritans.