TAUNTON Town have announced the signing of a golden boot-winning striker for next season.

Josh Grant arrives from Devon side Tavistock AFC, to become the Peacocks' second summer signing.

The striker came through Plymouth Argyle's youth system and scored 32 league goals last season, to share the top scorer accolade with St Austell's Liam Eddy, who also bagged 32.

Tavistock won the South West Peninsula League's Premier Division by two points over Exmouth Town, meaning they will be playing in the Toolstation Western League in 2019/20.

Grant is no stranger to scoring at the Viridor Stadium, having netted from the penalty spot in Tavistock's 2-1 win in an FA Cup replay in Taunton back in September 2017.

He also follows in the footsteps of Dan Sullivan, the Peacocks forward having joined from Tavistock later that season.

Grant told the club website: “I’m absolutely thrilled to sign for Taunton.

"Having known a few of the lads there you naturally follow the teams progress and it was a shame to see the team miss out on going up last season, but I’m looking forward to coming in to try and contribute to the squads success next season and hopefully push on for promotion.”

Taunton head of football Rob Dray commented: “Josh is somebody we have monitored over the last season.

"He can play in more than one position, gets across the ground quick and importantly he wants to be with us for the right reasons.

"To top it off, he was the golden boot winner in the Peninsula League last year.”

The signing of Grant looks set to add more firepower to a side which had Andrew Neal score 36 goals last term; the Peacocks' next highest scorer was Matt Wright, on 14.

And Grant joins Jamie Short in making the switch to Taunton ahead of the 2019/20 season, midfielder Short coming in from Street.

Centre-back Keith Emmerson has departed, while the future of defender Josh Nelmes, midfielders Matt Buse and Douglas Camilo, and striker Craig Veal remains unclear - but the majority of the 2018/19 squad have signed deals through to the summer of 2020.

That gives Taunton the following squad for next season as things stand:

Goalkeeper: Lloyd Irish
Defenders: Ben Adelsbury, Lewis Hall, Pierce Mitchell, Ed Palmer, Shane White
Midfielders: Ryan Brett, Ollie Chamberlain, Jamie Short
Forwards: Josh Grant, Andrew Neal, Dan Sullivan, Matt Wright