RHYS Cruse won the Club Championship at Tiverton for the second successive year after beating his main rival Harry Konig in a four-hole play-off.

Both players finished with a level-par total of 142 after 36 holes – equalling the long-standing record set by Roger Butler.

Cruse, playing off +1, sealed victory with a 20-foot birdie putt on the 9th to finish level par in extra holes.

Konig, a scratch-handicapper, was three over after two three-putts and a bogey on the 6th.

Cruse sank an even longer putt, from 40 feet, on the 36th hole to earn his place in the play-off with a second round of 73.

The 22-year-old, from Cullompton, had opened with a 69 in the first round courtesy of birdies on the 3rd, 5th, 10th, 14th and 15th and a back nine of 32.

Konig posted rounds of 70 and 72, each featuring four birdies.

Junior captain Tom Hanson finished third with scores of 70 and 78 for a total of 148.

Craig Aitchison stormed to victory in the President’s Cup, for the best nett total, with an aggregate of 134.

Aitchison followed up his 69 in the morning with a 65 in the afternoon, which included birdies on the 4th and 18th and prompted a handicap cut from 14 to 12.

Andy Pryce finished second on 138 after rounds of 68 and 70, with Paul Ablett posting identical scores but missing out on a countback.

There were also good scores from Neil Megarry (67) and Dale Flint (68) in the morning and Dan Smith (68) and Lee Davey (68) in the afternoon.

Results: Club Championship (scratch) – 1 Rhys Cruse (69+73=142); 2 Harry Konig (70+72=142); 3 Tom Hanson (70+78=148); 4 Tom Trowbridge (76+75=151); 5 Chris Audin (75+76=151); 6 James Lambden (75+78=153); 7 Neil Megarry (74+79=153); 8 Tony Allsopp (80+75=155); 9 Andy Pryce (77+79=156); 10 Will Blundell (81+77=158). President's Cup (nett) – 1 Craig Aitchison (69+65=134); 2 Andy Pryce (68+70=138); 3 Paul Ablett (68+70=138); 4 Neil Megarry (67+72=139); 5 Harry Brown (71+69=140); 6 Tom Hanson (66+74=140); 7 Jay Buckingham (71+70=141); 8 James Lambden (69+72=141); 9 Dave Buxton (73+69=142); 10 Alby Cruse (71+71=142).

Jane Moulding posted a four-under nett 70 to win the ladies’ July Medal on Wednesday.

Moulding, aided by a birdie on the 3rd, had her handicap cut from 16 to 15 after finishing four ahead of Abbie Moyes in the Silver Division.

Shirley Ward (73) won the Bronze Division One prize while Julie Hasell (75) was the leading player in Bronze Division Two.

Results: Silver Division – 1 Jane Moulding (86-16=70); 2 Abbie Moyes (79-5=74); 3 Alison Hilton (92-17=75). Bronze Division One – 1 Shirley Ward (96-23=73); 2 Xanda Vass (101-27=74); 3 Bridget Holland (98-22=76). Bronze Division Two – 1 Julie Hasell (104-29=75); 2 Julia Cole (104-29=75); 3 Shirley Paxton (105-29=76).

Devon president Mike Jewell and Lesley Crossley, from Tiverton, finished runners-up in the County Mixed Foursomes at Ilfracombe on Sunday.

Playing off a combined handicap of 14 and off the red tees, they scored 20 Stableford points over nine holes in the morning and 38 over 18 in the afternoon to finish five behind the winners.

Harry Konig played for Devon B in their Wessex League match against Somerset at Minehead on Sunday and helped them recover from a 3-1 deficit after the foursomes to halve the match overall.

Konig partnered Torquay’s Robbie Thompson to a 4 and 3 victory in the morning and the Tiverton player also won his singles game 1 up.