GOLF: Tiverton teenager earns scratch handicap

This is The West Country: GOLF: Tiverton teenager earns scratch handicap GOLF: Tiverton teenager earns scratch handicap

HARRY Konig has become the third player in recent years to reach a scratch handicap at Tiverton.

The 18-year-old followed in the footsteps of Jess Bradley and Rhys Cruse after hitting the landmark on Saturday.

Konig won the scratch and nett prizes in the December Medal at Royal North Devon after carding a one-under gross 71, which included two birdies and a bogey.

With the competition scratch score being 75, Konig's handicap came down from 0.8 to 0.3.

The Uffculme teenager is currently studying for a foundation degree in tournament golf performance at Tournament Golf College.

Konig and Cruse, 21, have recently finished their first semester based at St Mellion in Cornwall.

The pair are heading to Portugal in January to continue their golfing education at the Amendoeira Golf Resort.

They will be competing on the Algarve Winter Tour on the Faldo and O'Connor courses, alongside Portuguese and Spanish PGA professionals and members of the senior golf circuit.

Bradley is taking a golf scholarship at Lynn University in Boca Raton, Florida.

The 21-year-old helped her team win the 2013 NCAA Division II National Championship and has picked up other individual awards for her success.

Jo Lloyd-Davies had a hole-in-one on the 4th on her way to winning the ladies’ AGM Stableford on Wednesday.

The 14-handicapper scored 22 points over nine holes to top the Silver Division by five from Sue Norris.

Jackie Slocombe (20) won Bronze Division One ahead of Margot Seamer (17) and Ivy Radford (14).

Janet Simpson claimed the Bronze Division Two prize with 13, beating Wendy Harris on a countback.

Ricky Baker fired 41 Stableford points to win the men’s Turkey Trot on Saturday. The 21-handicapper pipped 2015 club captain David Jack by one in Division Two.

Stuart Moore also scored 40 but wasn’t eligible to win a prize as he hadn't played in enough qualifying competitions.

Andy Ogden carded 40 to beat Craig Aitchison on a countback in Division One.

Results: Division One – 1 Andy Ogden (40); 2 Craig Aitchison (40); 3 Alan Snow (39); 4 Richard Moyes (38); 5 Nick Conabeare (38); 6 Simon Young (38). Division Two – 1 Ricky Baker (41); 2 David Jack (40); 3 Nick Lear (38); 4 Stephen Bazley (37); 5 Tony Orford (36); 6 Kevin Ruscoe (35).

Harry Konig, Alex Gibson and Will Bucknell birdied seven of the nine holes to win the juniors’ Texas scramble on Sunday.

The trio posted a gross 29 for a nett 26.3 and were followed by runners-up Jimmy Heard, Josh Tidborough and George Sampson and third-placed Jay Buckingham, Joe Heard and Ryan Kemp.

Konig was nearest the pin on the 9th while Bucknell claimed the prize for non-CONGU players on the 4th.


About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree