JOSH Hemburrow with 37 points was the winner of Division One in Saturday’s Stableford competition at Taunton Vale Golf Club, which attracted a large entry.

However it was a close run thing for second spot which in the end went to Phil Howard on countback just ahead of Ian Bowidge after both returned to the clubhouse with 36 points.

Alex Campbell headed the second division with 41 points, four clear of nearest rival Darren Cross who was second with 37, while John Beer claimed third spot after countback on 36.

Dave Berryman enjoyed a five point lead to win Division Three, Frank Gregory was second with 35, and Ken Pitcher third on 34 after countback.

Ian Case took the honours in the top flight of Sunday’s Stableford with 41 points, just one ahead of second placed Neil Whisler, with Darren Cross third on 37.

Mark Turner won Division Three with 38 points, but the second placed had to be decided on countback at the end of which it was Chris Sealey who edged ahead of Jason Madden after both scored 36. Shanni Whisler was the winner in the Ladies Section Three Clubs and a Putter competition last week, with 27 points, two ahead of second placed Maggie Tolchard, with Jackie Pike claiming third place with 24 after countback.