A QUARRY inspector from Wellington was among people from across the area recognised in the New Year Honours List.

Eric Darlow, 74, said he was ‘humbled’ to have been made an MBE for his services to the quarrying industry, having served 56 years in various roles.

Mr Darlow said: “I was very surprised and really humbled when I heard but also very pleased.”

Mr Darlow moved to Wellington in 1973 to become HM inspector of quarries for the South-West.

He returned to Somerset in 1995 after retiring from the Health and Safety Executive, where he works as a nationwide independent consultant to the industry.

“I was very pleased and it wasn’t a hard decision to accept,”

he said.

Nicholas Lewis, from Crediton, the former deputy chief executive of the South West Regional Development Agency, has been made an MBE for services to the economy in the South-West.

Mr Lewis is currently a nonexecutive director of the North Devon Healthcare NHS Trust and chairman of North Devon Homes.

Several other people from Devon received honours, including two who played a major part in the great British summer of sporting success.

Mary King, of Salcombe Regis, who won a silver medal with the Team GB equestrian team at the London Olympics, was made an MBE, as was Jonathan Fox, a swimmer from Plymouth, who won gold in the 100m backstroke final at the Paralympics.

OTHER recipients from Devon and Somerset include: Professor Brian Golding, Sidmouth (OBE for work predicting hazardous weather); Irene Wills (British Empire Medal, services to the Pisces Swimming Club, Plymouth); Monika Kinley, Plymouth, (OBE, services to visual arts); Ann Barwood, Exminster, (BEM, voluntary services to Exeter Cathedral); Jean Bradford, Teignmouth (MBE, services to animal welfare); Carleen Kelemen, South Brent (OBE, services to social justice and economic inclusion); Julian Crow, Newton Ferrers (MBE, services to rail industry); Marilyn Kelly (MBE, charitable services in Newton Abbot); Angela O'Brien (MBE, services to drama in South West); David Rees (MBE, services to defence capability, Plymouth); Alan Bedford Smith, Newton Abbot (MBE, services to manufacturing industry); Richard Turpin, Paignton (MBE, charitable services to hospitality industry); Frances White, Axminster (MBE, services to people with learning disabilities); Michael Gee, Barnstaple (BEM, services to orchard conservation in north Devon); Susan Holland (BEM, services to Lydford); Diana Nicholls (BEM, services to Newton Abbot); Michael Pitt (BEM, services to the RAF and community in Woolacombe); Doris Russell (BEM, services to Colaton Raleigh); Lorraine Tucker (BEM, voluntary service to the City of Plymouth Children Fund); Colin Rockey, Kingsbridge, group manager, Devon and Somerset Fire and Rescue Service (Queen's Fire Service Medal); Bob Nicholson, chairman of Somerset Tourism Association (MBE, services to tourism); Kathy Ford, head of corporate information at Avon and Somerset Police (MBE for work setting up Data Protection Act in force area).