THE MAYOR of Bridgwater is to officially open the town’s new post office in Eastover.

Cllr David Loveridge and Sedgemoor District Council Chairman, Cllr Peter Downing, will cut the ribbon at 27 Eastover on January 17 at 11am.

Post Office operators, Chris Hogg and Fiona Griffiths will host with Senior Stakeholder Manager, Laura Tarling.

As part of Post Office plans to modernise the network, Bridgwater Post Office has moved to a new location and now provides customers with extended opening hours.

The new Bridgwater Post Office has five counter positions: a mixture of two traditional screened positions, two open plan positions and a Post Office serving point at the retail counter that offers many Post Office services during shop opening hours.

Bridgwater Post Office now opens from 9am to 5.30pm Monday to Saturday.